Reply. I did not remove the dead grass so that it can make the grass thicker and taller. Sod farms propagate St. Augustinegrass vegetatively, as they do most warm season grasses. 4), or chinch bug injury (Fig. Unfortunately, over 25% of the customers who purchased it called back within the first year reporting issues. St Augustine will produce seedheads but the seeds … Many who move to the South mistakenly believe that St. Augustine lawns can be installed the same way that their northern bluegrass or fescue lawns were installed. A lawn that appears to be dead over a period of 3 to 5 weeks can be revived. Find the right grass for your location and needs. Now, I'm by no means an expert. But on some other spots it is still green. The stolons/runners will quickly grow and fill-in bare patches of grass to form a thick carpet of turf. I’d like to know because if they are seeds for anything else I’ll make sure to bag the clippings when I mow this weekend. St Augustine grass requires approximately 4 to 5 lbs nitrogen per 1000 sq. 17-32 of 219 results for "st augustine grass seed" Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed High Traffic Mix, 3 lb. This is a tiny insect that pierces through the grass with needle-like mouth parts and sucks out the juices. It is a semi-dwarf grass that gives it a plush appearance without the risk of becoming thatchy. is a genus of warm-season grasses that forms a thick carpet of grass very similar to St. Augustine grass. Find out how to grow a new lawn or repair the one you have. Argentine Bahiagrass requires less than … Houston Grass South distributes St. Augustine, Bermuda and Zoysia grass sod grown on our family farm in Bay City, TX, where we’ve been growing top-quality grass for more than 30 … of grass blades per square yd. St. Augustine grass is a type of warm season grass that is popularly grown in the southern regions of the United States. About 4~6 inches tall, thick to the touch, with scales like seed pockets. Highlander II Fescue Grass with Ryegra