The early Christians and Church fathers recognized Mary’s holiness and her significance as the Mother of God. When your ready to lead a mini-consecration retreat for your whole family, the best resource to use with children is Carrie Gress’s Marian Consecration for Children: Bringing Mary to Life in Young Hearts and Minds. Hey there! You can always select various methods of consecration throughout the years, too! Yes! Consecrating ourselves to Mary is one way that we grow in that knowledge, love, and service. Doing this Marian consecration together has also drawn us closer to each other as a family. But even you don’t really know Our Lady yet and aren’t convinced of the hype, Marian consecration can be that bridge that unites you to her more deeply. Have you ever done a Marian consecration, with or without your children? As a former Montessori teacher I believe that even the very … A few times, I’ve thought it would be cool to do a Marian consecration with the girls, but that would have to be when they’re older, of course—maybe as young adults. This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Even though He was truly God, He submitted Himself to the authority of His mother and His foster father, thus setting an example for all of us on how to be good children. North American Martyrs Kids Activity Book, Patron Saints of Pregnancy and Childbirth, Face Masks for Kids: 5 Simple, Quick Recipes, 3 Natural Ways to Prepare Your Body for Labour, Books of the Bible at a glance: 66 Printable Bible Reference Sheets, The Lazy Mom's Guide to Girl's Saint Costumes, Kids Have Fun Learning Math and Reading with Starfall, How to Survive First Trimester Exhaustion, Natural Cold Remedies for Pregnant and Nursing Moms, What Can we Learn from Mary? This is based on St. Louis de Montfort’s Consecration to Jesus through Mary. Page 2 in "Marian Devotions in the Domestic Church" Catherine Fournier and Peter Fournier. She grew up in Alberta and now makes her home in Vancouver, BC. As Advent begins, on